india?

30/10/2010 § Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

India is comprised of twenty-eight states. Why is this important, especially when I said I’d save you geographic, historical, and any other kind of lesson? Because throughout my trip I kept generalizing Indians into one category, while in fact each state in India is completely different. Each has its own beliefs, carries its own values, displays its own cultural rituals, and has its own history. I visited Maharashtra, the industrial city of India, think of it in terms of New York. Would it be fair to say people in New York act, think, walk, and talk like those living in Louisiana? NO. So, it is very important to keep in mind when I refer to India (this post or future ones) in reality I’m writing about Maharashtra– the only state I’ve visited. It’s also important because the experiences I’ve had may be, actually WILL be, different than someone who has visited any other state.

Tagged:

Kommentar verfassen

Was ist das?

Du liest momentan india? auf Kirke's Blog.

Meta